top of page

2021 Make Nine Challenge


I'm not one for New Year's resolutions, but 2021 holds a lot of possible momentous life changes for me (more on that later!), and several of those changes revolve around sewing. So, welcome fellow or aspiring sewists, and join me as I take the leap into the world of sewing blogs!


But first, a bit of backstory...


I first started sharing my makes on Instagram in June 2020, after COVID forced the school district I work for into virtual learning and suddenly I found myself with a lot of idle time in between teaching. When the pipe dream of a completely handmade wardrobe quickly became an achievable reality, I decided to begin documenting my makes.


In reality, I was also very lonely, and craved community as so many others around me did. I was not prepared for the overwhelming welcome and kindness that followed. I was, and still am, humbled by the generosity of shared resources, the encouraging words from fellow sewists, and the tight-knit creative connection that quickly rallied around me.


Enough of that, on with the challenge!


The Make Nine Challenge got its start back in 2015 when Rochelle from Home Row Fiber Co.--then Lucky Lucille--focused her creative energy on the future. Since then, it has become a force in the sewing community; for the last week, my feed has been filled with everyone's inspiring plans for the year ahead. I'm typically a fly-by-the-seat-of-my-pants sewer (which, if you know me, truly dumbfounds you, as this in no way aligns with how I approach any other aspect of my life). But after the year we just had, I'm craving some deliberate purpose.


I'm sure I will still decide to hack a pattern halfway through cutting, but the Make Nine Challenge is a way for me to practice thoughtful consideration. I'm using the challenge as a way to expand and strengthen my sewing skills and create sustainable and timeless garments.


A Note: Many conversations around inclusivity took place in the sewing community this past year, and I had the opportunity to listen and reflect on my own practices. In particular, pattern companies' attention to sizing was at the forefront of many accounts I follow.


As a straight-sized sewist, I have not had the experience of being excluded because of my measurements. But purchasing power is important, and moving forward I choose to only support businesses who celebrate all sizes with their patterns.


Leanne (@threadyforit) and Alex (@adifferentstitch) both have had meaningful conversations around this topic, and Megan (@thegreenviolet) put together an amazing resource over on her blog. You can find it here.

#1: Tamarack Jacket by Grainline Studio

#2: Cass Pant by The Fabric Store

#3: Blackwood Cardigan by Helen's Closet

#4: Honeycomb Dress by Cocowawa Crafts

#5: Darling Ranges Dress by Megan Nielsen

#6: Cornell Shirt by Elbe Textiles

#7: Kelly Anorak Jacket by Closet Core Patterns

#8: Avery Leggings by Helen's Closet

#9: Blanca Flight Suit by Closet Core Patterns

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page